Possessive Pronouns and Adjectives

Restless.

Can’t sleep at nights

Restless.

I long for

the touch of mine other,

an instant balm,

a soother.

 

My my,

you used

to be

something

I could say was

mine.

 

You are my love.

You are

everything I thought

could be for me,

bottled up in an elixir

a life-giving liquid

exchanged only between

us.

Between lovers

Between legs

Between lips.

 

My my,

You used

to be

something that was

mine.

You used to belong to me.

***

Maybe not.

Perhaps the reality

I live in my head

is not

in fact

reality

as it were,

but

Lust, as it must

have been

because love

tends to last

longer

than a snowcone,

longer than a sugar grain

longer than mingled breaths

in the heat of a moment

or kisses

in the rain.

 

Maybe not.

Perhaps

it was all

an illusion,

a pretty picture,

a fairytaled fable,

a comforter

to my restless soul.

Forever roaming within

asking questions

driving me mad.

I presumed

this was bad

so

I might have,

just might have

recreated a love story

in my head

to match

the one I wish

could be read

as mine,

as ours.

***

My my,

You used

to be

something

I could say was

mine.

Leave a comment